Winter 2010 Anime Review

Posted: February 11, 2010 in anime

We’re about midway through the winter anime season and I thought I’d share my opinions on the anime I previously wrote about. Overall I’d say this season was a success with 2/3 of my anime choices satisfying my expectations, I enthusiastically look forward to the end of the season and then onward to spring. :3

Okami Kakushi (Studio AIC; Ryukishi07 Original): It’s just as engaging and mysterious as the last two entries in the series (Higurashi, Umineko). The pacing is a bit slower and the animation is certainly different with AIC at the helm, but these are positives in my opinion. Heh, those positives certainly would have helped Umineko especially toward the end of that season. A transfer student moves into town and everyone takes a liking to him and he immediately becomes adjusted within the community. Amidst the happy and carefree atmosphere there are slayings occurring during full red moons in maze-like backalleys, mhmm… Reviewer Opinion: WIN.

Dance in the Vampire Bund (Studio SHAFT): It captured my attention when I first read the synopsis and the aspect of yet another entry in killer lolis anime was just too tempting to pass up. It’s disappointing that the animated series failed to deliver upon what was expected. From what I have read the manga is good and engaging but the anime is neither good nor engaging. Copious drawn out talking sequences and not enough of that killer loli bit going on, yeah… I’ve gone ahead and passed on this series. Reviewer Opinion: FAIL.

Sora no Woto (Studio A-1 Pictures): Original story with original characters and thus far a free form loose plot, I like it. The moe character designs are a definite plus but I’m also captivated by the environments these girls find themselves in. The pacing of the episodes has been excellent in that each episode has given focus on a different character while not making it seem like the others are ignored. The only negative I can come up with is the lack of the owl, definitely could use more owl. Reviewer Opinion: WIN.

Leave a Reply

