Haze

Posted: February 28, 2010 in writing

Standing alone by the side of the road I bring my hand up to my face, for the moment I can’t remember who I am. I turn and look around to see wild shrubs, grass, and trees on either side of the road; I look up to see a rich blue sky and a sun hovering overhead which temporarily blinds me. I shield my eyes for a moment and look back at the road I’m standing on and then I notice a figure riding toward me. As they draw closer a lone thought pops into my mind, ‘Kalli!’. She becomes clear and is dressed in a postal worker’s uniform, she seemingly doesn’t take notice of me and rides on by. Moments later she rides past me and back the way she had come. This scene repeats a few times and that’s when I decide I’ll get her attention on the next pass.

Should I mock her? Just say ‘hiii’? I don’t have much time to decide what I’ll say so as she comes close I say ‘heyyy, you’re cute!’. Her eyes twitch in my direction but she doesn’t mind me and goes on by again. I grin and say ‘bye, Kalli!’, by the time she slows down and turns to look back I’ve gone away.

Standing behind a counter minding a cash register with a few bookcases surrounding my area I sigh in boredom. This building I’m in is pretty old but it has a nice antic feel to it, makes me feel at ease. She walks in suddenly and disturbs me out of my thoughts. She greets me and smiles and begins trying to make small talk but I interrupt her. My boss will get upset if he sees me talking to a friend during work so I tell her I’ll talk to her later. She asks if I have a phone I can be reached at but I don’t remember my number and send her off telling her I’d get in contact with her later.

Time passes and everything is in a haze for me. Why am I here? Where are my friends and family from back home? Where do I live? I can’t answer these questions and it gives me a headache trying to answer any of them. When she’s not around I cease to exist, I’m conscious but I can’t interact with this world, her world.

She walks up to the building where I work the register and along with her is her friend Kerryn. Apparently she wants her to meet me, but I’m not there. The building is dusty, dirty, and empty. Bookcases with no books, a register no longer there, the lights are missing, and there are no people.

I wake up.

Leave a Reply

